Board of Advisors

    Lawrence Helman

    Lawrence is a director of the law firm ENSAfrica. He is an experienced commercial attorney, specialising in company law and commercial transactions and advice. He has worked extensively in the healthcare sector and played a significant role in the corporatisation of pharmacy in South Africa. He has also worked extensively in the public sector. In addition to his legal expertise he brings to the organisation experience in business development and private/public sector collaboration.

        Dr Tracey Naledi

        Medical doctor and Public Health Specialist; Chief Director for Health Programmes in the Western Cape Department of Health; established the Directorate for Health Impact Assessment in the Western Cape Department of Health, a first of its kind in South Africa

            Samantha Hanslo

            Advisor for the  Adherence and Psychosocial Support at South-to-South, a programme at Stellenbosch University;  Master’s degree in Counselling Psychology; former PMHP service recipient, now advocating towards quality holistic care for all women in the perinatal period

                Dr Lane Benjamin

                Clinical community psychologist; Founder of a non-governmental organisation, CASE (Community Action towards a Safer Environment);  Ashoka fellowship in 2006 for Social Entrepeneurs

                    Professor Andrew Dawes

                    Emeritus Professor, Psychology Department UCT; Honorary Associate Fellow, University of Oxford; Fellow, Association of Psychological Science

                        Associate Professor Sharon Kleintjes

                        Trained as a Clinical Psychologist; Principal Psychologist at Valkenberg Hospital; Senior lecturer in the Department of Psychiatry and Mental Health at the University of Cape Town

                            Professor Julian Leff

                            Social psychiatrist (retired); Emeritus Professor, Institute of Psychiatry, Kings College London; Honorary Professor, UCT and University of Western Ontario, Canada; Associate Editor, British Journal of Psychiatry

                                Professor Joan Raphael-Leff

                                Psychoanalyst and Social Psychologist (retired); University College London Anna Freud Centre Academic Faculty for Psychoanalytic Research; Professor of Psychoanalysis, Centre for Psychoanalytic Studies, University of Essex; Fellow, British Psychoanalytical Society